



## Okanagan Senate

# THE FIRST REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2015/2016 ACADEMIC YEAR

## THURSDAY, 24 SEPTEMBER 2015

#### 3:30 PM | ASC 130

# 1. Senate Membership- Dr Kate Ross

#### **New Members**

- Dr Martha C. Piper to replace Dr Arvind Gupta, Acting President & Vice-Chancellor
- Dr Philip Barker to fill a vacancy, Vice-Principal Research
- Dean *Pro Tem*. Robert Eggleston to replace Dean Wisdom Tettey, Faculty of Creative & Critical Studies
- Dean Wisdom Tettey to replace Acting Dean Barbara Rutherford, Faculty of Arts & Sciences

#### **Declarations of Vacancies**

- Letters of resignation have been received from Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos, Faculty Representative for the Faculty of Applied Science, Dr Daniel Salhani, Faculty Representative for the Faculty of Health & Social Development, and Ms Alliance Babunga, Student Representative At-large.
- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 14 May 2015 Dr Martha Piper (approval) (docket pages 3-14)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Martha Piper
- 4. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Martha Piper (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard
  - a. Activity Report for 1 April to 31 August 2015 (information) (docket pages 15-17)
  - b. General Remarks (information)

# 6. Candidates for Degrees

The list as approved by the faculties and College of Graduate Studies is available for advance inspection at Enrolment Services, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees and diplomas, as recommended by the faculties and College be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective September 2015, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the relevant deans,

and the Chair of the Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments. (approval)

(2/3 majority required).

# 7. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Miriam Grant

Disestablishment of the Okanagan Sustainability Institute (approval) (docket Page 18)

# 8. Admission & Awards Committee – Dr Marianne Legault

- a. Changes to the admission requirements for the Bachelor of Human Kinetics program (approval) (docket pages 19-23)
- b. New Awards (approval) (docket pages 24-25)

# 9. Nominating Committee – Dr Daniel Keyes

- a. Adjustments to Committee Assignments (approval) (docket page 26)
- b. Presidential Search Committee (approval) (docket pages 27-32)

# 10. Report from the President – Dr Martha Piper

Annual Report of the University Ombudsperson for Students – Ms Shirley Nakata and Ms Maria Mazzotta (information) (docket pages 33-52)

# 11. Report from the Provost – Dr Cynthia Mathieson

Update on Curriculum Reform in the Faculty of Education (information)

#### 12. Other Business

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca