Okanagan Senate



THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Okanagan Senate

THE FIFTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2014/2015 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY 28 JANUARY 2015

3:30 P.M.

ASC 130

1. Senate Membership – Dr Kate Ross

Nominating Committee (information)

In response to the call for nominations issued for two student representatives to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee, Mr Wesley McLean and Ms Kyla Nicole are acclaimed as elected until 31 March 2015 and thereafter until replaced.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 18 December 2014 Prof. Arvind Gupta (approval) (docket pages 3-10)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Prof. Arvind Gupta (information)
- 4. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Prof. Arvind Gupta (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard (information)
- 6. From the Board of Governors Prof. Arvind Gupta

Confirmation that material from the following meetings as approved by Senate was subsequently approved by the Board of Governors as required under the University Act (information):

24 September 2014

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science and Health & Social Development

New Awards

22 October 2014

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science, Arts & Sciences, and Health & Social Development

26 November 2014

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science and Health & Social Development

New Awards

7. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Miriam Grant

- a. Revisions to the Composition of the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies Council (approval) (docket pages 11-21)
- b. Amendment to Academic Regulation on Grading Practices for School of Nursing (approval) (docket pages 22-24)
- c. Establishment of the Institute for Community Engaged Research (approval) (docket pages 25-61)
- d. Establishment of the Regional Socio-Economic Development Institute of Canada (approval) (docket pages 62-69)

8. Agenda Committee – Dr Daniel Keyes

Change to Senate Meeting Pattern and 2015-2016 Senate Meeting Dates (approval) (docket page 70)

9. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Curriculum Proposal from the faculty of Arts & Sciences (approval) (docket pages 71-81)

10. Nominating Committee – Dr Daniel Keyes

Adjustments to Committee Assignments (approval) (docket page 82)

11. From the Deputy Vice-Chancellor – Prof. Deborah Buszard

Discussion on Research Strategy (discussion) (docket pages 83-95)

12. From the Provost – Dr. Cynthia Mathieson

Vantage College at UBC's Okanagan Campus (information) (docket pages 96-111)

13. Other Business

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca