

Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016-1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver Senate

THE FIRST REGULAR MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2015/2016 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 16 SEPTEMBER 2015

6:00 P.M.

ROOM 182, IRVING K. BARBER LEARNING CENTRE, 1961 EAST MALL

1. Senate Membership – Mr Lindsay Gordon and Dr Kate Ross

New Members

- Dr Martha C. Piper, to replace Dr Arvind Gupta, Acting President & Vice-Chancellor
- Dr Angela Redish to replace Dr David H. Farrar, Provost & Vice-President Academic pro tem.
- Dean Catherine Dauvergne to replace Dean Mary Anne Bobinski, Dean of the Faculty of Law
- Dean Dermot Kelleher to replace Dr Gavin C. E. Stuart, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine
- Dr William McKee to replace Dr Katja Thieme, Representative of the Joint Faculties

Vacancies continue for representatives for the faculties of Land & Food Systems, and Law.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 13 May 2015 Dr Martha Piper (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Martha Piper
- 4. Remarks from the Chair & Related Questions Dr Martha Piper (information)
- 5. Candidates for Degrees Dr Martha Piper (approval)

The list as approved by the Faculty of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies is available for advance inspection at Enrolment Services, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees, as recommended by the faculties, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective September 2015, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the Dean of the Faculty, and the Chair of Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments.

(2/3 majority required)

6. Joint Report of the Senate Admissions & Curriculum Committees – Mrs Carol Jaeger and Dr Robert Sparks

- a. New Degree Program: Master of Geomatics for Environmental Management (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- b. New Degree Program: Doctor of Education in Reading Education (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

7. Awards Committee – Dr Lawrence Burr

New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

8. Admissions Committee - Dr Robert Sparks

- a. Changes to Admission Requirements for the Doctor of Medicine Degree (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- b. Affiliation with Langara College for the Aboriginal Transfer Partnership (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

9. Curriculum Committee – Mrs Carol Jaeger

- a. Ratifications of Material Approved by the Committee Over the Summer Months under Delegated Authority of Senate (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- September Curriculum Proposals for the faculties of faculties of Commerce and Business Administration and Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Applied Science) (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

10. Nominating Committee - Dr Richard Tees

- a. Change to the Membership of Senate (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- b. Changes to Memberships of Committees of Senate (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- c. Presidential Search Committee (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

11. Report from the President – Dr Martha Piper

Report from the Ombudsperson for Students, Ms Shirley Nakata (information)

12. Report from the Provost – Dr Angela Redish

Change in Name from the David R Cheriton Chair in Computer Science to the Cheriton Family Chair in Computer Science (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

13. Other Business

Presentation on Examination Database – Student Senators (information)