Vancouver Senate

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

a place of mind THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Vancouver Senate

THE EIGHTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2016/2017 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 19 APRIL 2017

6:00 P.M.

ROOM 182, IRVING K. BARBER LEARNING CENTRE, 1961 EAST MALL

1. Senate Membership – Mr Christopher Eaton

a. New Members:

- Mr Kevin Doering, Representative of the Students At-Large
- Mr Jakob Gattinger, Representative of the Students At-Large
- Mr Daniel Lam, Representative of the Students At-Large (continuing)
- Mr Ian Sapollnik, Representative of the Students At-Large (continuing)
- Ms Simran Brar, Representative of the Students At-Large
- Ms Jaymi Booth, Student Representative, Faculty of Applied Science
- Ms Marium Hamid, Student Representative, Faculty of Arts
- Mr Michael Pratt, Student Representative, Faculty of Commerce & Business Administration
- Ms Danika Coulbourn, Student Representative, Faculty of Forestry (continuing)
- Mr Francisco Gallagos, Student Representative, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
- Ms Miranda Huron, Student Representative, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (continuing)
- Ms Madison Grist, Student Representative, Peter A. Allard School of Law
- Ms Lisa Wang, Student Representative, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
- Ms Sarah Park, Student Representative, Faculty of Science
- *NB:* The Education Student Senator Position transitions in October of each year. Vacancies are presently being filled for Dentistry, Medicine, and Land & Food Systems senators

b. Nominating Committee:

This is a call for nominations for two (2) student members of Senate to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 March 2018 and thereafter until replaced. Nominations are due by 4 pm on Thursday 4 May 2017 to christopher.eaton@ubc.ca. If

more than two students are nominated, an election will be held at the May meeting of Senate in accordance with Rule 26 (f) of the *Rules and Procedures of Senate*.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 15 March 2017– Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 3-23)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- 4. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono (information)

5. Report from the Provost – Dr Angela Redish

2016-2017 Budget Update – with Vice-President Finance & Operations Andrew Simpson (information)

6. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Paul Harrison

- a. New Policy V-104: Reviews of Assigned Standing (approval) (docket page 24-31)
- b. Affiliation Agreements with the Technische Universität Dresden, Ludwig Maximilians Universität München, Technische Universität München, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, and L'université Pierre et Marie Curie (Université de Paris VI) for International Three+Two B.Sc./M.Sc. Degree Partnership in Chemistry Agreements (approval) (docket page 32-46)
- c. Establishment of the School for Public Policy and Global Affairs (approval)(docket page 47-70)

7. Awards Committee – Dr Lawrence Burr

New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 71-75)

8. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Marshall

Curriculum proposals from the Faculties of Arts, Education Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Land and Food Systems), Land and Food Systems, and Science (approval) (docket pages 76-103)

9. Report from the Librarian – Ms Melody Burton

2015-2016 Annual Report of the Librarian to the Senate (information) (docket page 104-121)

10. Other Business

Section 16 (b) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Vancouver Senate* states that meetings will adjourn no later than 8:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca