Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver Senate

THE FOURTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2017/2018 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 13 DECEMBER 2017

6:00 P.M.

ROOM 182, IRVING K. BARBER LEARNING CENTRE, 1961 EAST MALL

- 1. Call to Order Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 2. Senate Membership Dr Kate Ross

Resignation:

Mr Ian Sapollnik, a Student Member At-Large, has submitted a letter of resignation effective 14 December 2017. (information)

Nominating Committee:

A vacancy exists for a student member of Senate to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 March 2018 and thereafter until replaced, to replace Mr Kevin Doering. Any interested student member of Senate should indicate their willingness to stand by email to <u>christopher.eaton@ubc.ca</u> by 5 January 2018. Should there be more than one person nominated, an election will be held at the January meeting of Senate pursuant to Rule 26 (f) of the *Rules and Procedures of Senate*. (information)

- Minutes of the Meeting of 15 November 2017 Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket page 3-15)
- 4. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 6. Academic Policy Committee Dr Paul Harrison

Exception to Policy V-125 (Term and Formal Examination Scheduling) to Facilitate the Hosting of the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences in 2019 (approval) (docket pages 16-17)



- 7. Agenda Committee Mr Jakob Gattinger
 - a) Change in the *Rules and Procedures of Senate* for Publication of Senate Committee Minutes (approval) (docket page 18-19)
 - b) Establishment of a Senate Ad-hoc Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (approval) (docket pages 20-28)
- 8. Awards Committee Dr Lawrence Burr

New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket page 29-34)

- 9. Joint Report of the Admissions and Curriculum Committees Prof. Carol Jaeger and Dr Peter Marshall
 - a) New Program: Master of Science in Oceans and Fisheries (approval) (docket page 35-64)
 - b) New Program: Doctor of Philosophy in Oceans and Fisheries (approval) (docket page 65-94)
- 10. Curriculum Committee Dr Peter Marshall

Curriculum Materials from the Faculties of Applied Science, Arts, Graduate and

Postdoctoral Studies, and Science (approval) (docket page 95-128)

11. Nominating Committee – Dr Richard Tees

Adjustments to Committee Assignments (approval (docket page 129)

12. Tributes Committee – Dr Sally Thorne

Candidates for Emeritus Status (approval) (docket page 130-131)

- 13. Report from the Provost Dr Andrew Szeri
 - a) Establishment of the Haida Gwaii Institute in the Faculty of Forestry (approval) (docket pages 132-149) Vice-Provost Eric Eich on behalf of Dr Szeri
 - b) Change in name from the Department of English to the Department of English Language and Literatures (approval) (docket pages 150-154) – Vice-Provost Eric Eich on behalf of Dr Szeri
- 14. Report from the Faculty of Medicine Dean Dermot Kelleher

Faculty of Medicine Governance Renewal (approval) (docket pages 155-212)

15. Other Business