Dcoket Page 1 of 47 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

#### Okanagan Senate

# THE SECOND REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2018/2019 ACADEMIC YEAR

### **THURSDAY, 25 OCTOBER 2018**

#### 3:30 PM | ASC 130

#### 1. Senate Membership – Dr Kate Ross

#### **Nominating Committee**

As a result of the call for nominations issued at the last meeting, Dean Bryce Traister and Dr Stephen O'Leary are acclaimed as elected to the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 August 2020 and thereafter until replaced.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 27 September 2018– Prof. Deborah Buszard (approval) (docket pages 3-12)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Prof. Deborah Buszard
- 4. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Relation Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard
- 5. Academic Policy Committee Dr Stephen McNeil

Re-organization of the Faculty of Creative & Critical Studies (approval)(docket pages 13-21)

- 6. Admissions & Awards Committee Dr Greg Wetterstrand
  - a. Re-Admission Requirements for PhD Students Previously Admitted to Candidacy (approval) (docket pages 22-25)
  - b. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 26-29)
- 7. Curriculum Committee Dr Peter Arthur

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science and Creative & Critical Studies (approval) (docket pages 30-33)

8. Nominating Committee – Dr Jannik Eikenaar

Principles and Procedures for Presidential Searches (approval) (docket pages 34-44)

## 9. Other Business

Motion from Senator Wylie (approval) (docket pages 45-47)

Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca