

Docket Page 1 of 49 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016-1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

#### Okanagan Senate

# THE EIGHTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2017/2018 ACADEMIC YEAR

#### THURSDAY 26 APRIL 2018

3:30 P.M. | ASC 130

### 1. Senate Membership

#### **New Members:**

- Mr. Venedict Tamondong, Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Applied Science
- Mr. Shao Yuan Chong, Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences
- Ms. Rachelle Snider, Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Health and Social Development
- Ms. Yueting Chen, Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Management
- Mr. Uchenna Anyaoha, Graduate Student Representative
- Ms. Megan Harper, Graduate Student Representative (continuing)
- Ms. Lois Fraser, Representative of the Students At-large
- Mr. Calvin Jacob, Representative of the Students At-large
- Ms. Brittney MacBean, Representative of the Students At-large
- Ms. Kristen Morgan, Representative of the Students At-large (Continuing)
- Mr. Jassim Naqvi, Representative of the Students At-large
- Mr. Jackson Traplin, Representative of the Students At-large
- Processes are underway to fill vacancies for students from the faculties of NB: Creative & Critical Studies and Education.

## **Nominating Committee:**

This is a call for nominations for two (2) student members of Senate to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 March 2019 and thereafter until replaced. Nominations are due by 4 pm on Friday 4 May 2018 to christopher.eaton@ubc.ca. If more than two students are nominated, an election will be held at the May meeting of Senate in accordance with Rule 24 (e) of the Rules and Procedures of Senate.

2. Minutes of the Meeting of 29 March 2018 – Dr Deborah Buszard (approval) (docket pages 3-11)

- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Deborah Buszard (information)
- **4. Remarks from the Chair Dr Santa Ono** (information) (via video)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard (information)
- 6. Academic Policy Committee Dr Jan Cioe
  - a. Merger of the UBC Okanagan and UBC Vancouver Faculties of Education (approval) (docket pages 12-31)
  - b. Graduate Student Vacation Policy (approval) (docket pages 32-35)
- 7. Admission & Awards Committee Dr Marianne Legault

New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 36-37)

- 8. Curriculum Committee Dr Peter Arthur
  - a. Curriculum Proposal from the faculties of Arts & Sciences, and Creative & Critical Studies (approval) (docket pages 38-48)
  - b. Update on Curriculum Guidelines Review (information)
- 9. Other Business
  - a. Motion from Dr Lalonde (approval) (docket page 49)

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca