Docket Page 1 of 105 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

#### Vancouver Senate

# THE FOURTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2018/2019 ACADEMIC YEAR

# WEDNESDAY, 12 DECEMBER 2018 6:00 P.M.

# ROOM 182, IRVING K. BARBER LEARNING CENTRE, 1961 EAST MALL

- 1. Call to Order and Territorial Acknowledgement Mr Jakob Gattinger (information)
- 2. **Minutes of the Meeting of 21 November 2018 Mr Jakob Gattinger** (approval) (docket pages 3-26)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Mr Jakob Gattinger (information)
- 4. Academic Policy Committee Dr Paul Harrison
  - a) Amendments to the Academic Calendar for the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (approval) (docket pages 27-33)
  - b) Joint Board and Senate Policy #73: Academic Accommodations for Students with Disabilities (approval) (docket pages 34-53)

#### 5. Admissions Committee – Prof. Carol Jaeger

- a) Elimination of Language Proficiency Index Requirement to Enroll in a First-Year English Course (approval) (docket pages 54, 56-64)
- b) Langara Diploma in Food, Nutrition, and Health (FNH) Transfer (approval) (docket pages 54, 65-70)
- c) Changes to Calendar Entry for Graduate Appeals on Admission or Readmission (approval) (docket pages 54, 71-73)
- d) Changes to Deferred Admission Calendar Entry (approval) (docket pages 54, 74)
- e) Graduate Student Declaration (approval) (docket pages 55, 75-79)

#### 6. Awards Committee - Dr Lawrence Burr

New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 80-85)

Docket Page 2 of 105 Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

#### 7. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Marshall

Curriculum Materials from the Faculties of Arts and Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (approval)(docket pages 86-100)

# 8. Nominating Committee – Dr Richard Tees

Appointment to Council of Senates (approval) (docket page 101)

### 9. Tributes Committee – Dr Sally Thorne

Candidates for Emeritus Status (approval) (docket pages 102-103)

#### 10. Other Business

Formation of a Standing Committee on Research – Dr Claudia Krebs, Dr Philip Loewen, Ms Jeanie Malone (approval) (docket pages 104-105)

# 11. IN CAMERA - Tributes Committee - Dr Sally Thorne

Candidates for Honorary Degrees (approval) (to be circulated at meeting and available for viewing beforehand at the Senate Office)