Docket Page 1 of 218 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Vancouver Senate

THE EIGHT REGULAR MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2018/2019 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 17 APRIL 2019

6:00 P.M.

ROOM 182, IRVING K. BARBER LEARNING CENTRE, 1961 EAST MALL

1. Senate Membership – Dr Kate Ross

a. **New Members:**

Terms from April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020. One representative elected from each faculty, two from the Faculty of Graduate and Post-doctoral Studies, and five members at-large

Applied Science Mr Alex Gonzalez

Arts

Mr Mathias Leuprecht (Continuing)

Commerce and Business Administration Mr Dante Agosti-Moro

Forestry

Mr Christian Surniawan (Continuing)

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies Mr Temitope Onifade Ms Alexa Tanner (Continuing)

Land and Food Systems Ms Lillian Milroy

Medicine

Ms Vivian Tsang

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Ms Enay Zusman

Members at-large
Ms Julia Burnham – Faculty of Arts
Ms Julia Chai – Faculty of Science
Mr Christopher Hakim – Faculty of Arts
Mr J. Maximillian Holmes - Faculty of Arts (Continuing)
Mr Nick Pang – Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences (Continuing)

NB: The Education Student Senator Position transitions in October of each year and the Registrar has not been advised as of the publication of this agenda who has been elected for the faculties of Dentistry, Allard Law, or Science.

b. **Nominating Committee:**

This is a call for nominations for two (2) student members of Senate to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 March 2020 and thereafter until replaced. Nominations are due by 4 pm on Thursday 2 May 2020 to christopher.eaton@ubc.ca. If more than two students are nominated, an election will be held at the May meeting of Senate in accordance with Rule 26 (f) of the *Rules and Procedures of Senate*.

c. Vice-Chair of Senate

This is a call for nominations for Vice-Chair of Senate for a term of no more than one (1) year pursuant to Section 37(1)(a) of the University Act. Any senators interested should email their intent to stand for election to christopher.eaton@ubc.ca by 12 noon on 17 April 2019. Should there be more than one candidate, an election will be held under this item after short statements of interest are heard by the Senate from each candidate (or their representative should they be unable to attend the meeting). (approval)

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 20 March 2019 Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 4-22)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- **4.** Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 5. From the President

2019-2020 Budget Presentation and 2018 Financial Statements – with Vice President Peter Smailes (information) (docket pages 23-136)

6. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Paul Harrison

Revisions to Academic Regulations for the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (approval) (docket pages 137-145)

7. Agenda Committee

Referral to the Council of Senates on Inter-Campus Mobility and Cross-Campus Academic Collaboration (approval) (docket page 146)

8. Awards Committee – Dr Lawrence Burr

- a. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 147-151)
- b. Interim Report on Summer Session Courses and Student Awards (information) (docket pages 152-156)

9. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Marshall

- a. Curriculum proposals from the Faculties of Arts, Education, Land & Food Systems, and Science (approval) (docket pages 157-201)
- b. New Certificates in Early Years Education, Infant Development and Supported Childcare, Health and Wellness, Textiles Studies, Teaching About Visual and Material Culture, Teacher Librarianship, and Teaching English as Second Language (information) (docket pages 202-218)

10. Other Business

Section 16 (b) Of the *Rules and Procedures of the Vancouver Senate* states that meetings will adjourn no later than 8:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca