Docket Page 1 of 314
Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver Senate

THE NINTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2018/2019 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 15 MAY 2019

6:00 P.M.

ROOM 182, IRVING K. BARBER LEARNING CENTRE, 1961 EAST MALL

1. Senate Membership – Dr Kate Ross

New Member

Ms Natasha Rygnestad-Stahl, Student Senator for the Peter A. Allard School of Law, until 31 March 2020 and thereafter until replaced, to replace Mr Alex Starr.

Nominating Committee:

In response to the call for nominations issued at the previous meeting, nominations have been received for Ms Julia Burnham and Mr J. Maximillian Holmes to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee. As there are only two nominees for two positions, they are acclaimed as elected until 31 March 2020 and thereafter until replaced.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 17 April 2019– Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 5-19)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- **4.** Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 5. Candidates for Degrees Dr Santa Ono

The list as approved by the faculties is available for advance inspection at the Senate office, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees and diplomas, as recommended by the faculties, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended,

effective May 2019, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the dean of the relevant faculty, and the Chair of Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments (approval) (2/3 majority required).

6. From the Council of Senates – Dr Perry Adebar

Annual Report of the Budget Committee (information) (docket pages 20-23)

7. From the Okanagan Senate – Dr Kate Ross

Memorial Minute for Dr W. Wesley Pue (information) (docket pages 24-25)

8. Academic Building Needs Committee – Dr Michael Isaacson

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 26-28)

9. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Paul Harrison

- a. New Policy V-135: Academic Concession (approval) (docket pages 29-43)
- b. Establishment of the Centre for Innovative Data in Economics Research (approval) (docket pages 44-73)
- c. Discontinuation of Rolling Graduation for Graduate Students (approval) (docket pages 74-78)

10. Admissions Committee – Prof. Carol Jaeger

- a. Revisions to English Language Admission Standard English Language Competency (approval) (docket pages 79, 81-89)
- b. Revisions to Readmission Regulations for the Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Fine Arts (approval) (docket pages 79, 90-94)
- c. Change to the Non-Degree Studies Application Deadlines (approval) (docket pages 79, 95-97)
- d. Annual Report on Appeals and Other Matters of Delegated Authority (information) (docket pages 98-100)

11. Agenda Committee – Mr Jakob Gattinger

Draft Senate Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Rules (information)(docket pages 101-109)

12. Appeals on Academic Standing – Prof. Anthony Sheppard

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 110-112)

13. Awards Committee – Dr Lawrence Burr

New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 113-132)

14. Joint Report of the Admissions and Curriculum Committees – Dr Peter Marshall and Prof. Carol Jaeger

- a. Revision to the Master of Engineering Leadership in Sustainable Process Engineering (approval) (docket pages 133-142)
- b. Revision to the Master of Business Administration (approval)(docket pages 133, 148-150)
- c. Revision to the Doctor of Philosophy in School and Applied Child Psychology (approval) (docket pages 133-134, 148-150)
- d. Revision to the Master of Arts in School and Applied Child Psychology (approval) (docket pages 133-134, 151-161)
- e. Revision to the Master of Education in School and Applied Child Psychology (approval) (docket pages 133-134, 151-161)
- f. Discontinuation of the Master of Arts in Mathematics (approval)(docket pages 133-134, 162-164)

15. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Marshall

- a. Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science, Arts, Commerce and Business Administration, Education, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, and Science. (approval) (docket pages 165-262
- b. New Certificate: Graduate Certificate in Aquaculture (information) (docket pages 263-271)

16. Library Committee – Dr Lawrence Burr

Annual Report (information) (docket page 272)

17. Nominating Committee – Dr Richard Tees

Appointments to Committees and the Council of Senates (approval) (docket pages 273-276)

18. Student Appeals on Academic Discipline – Mr Tariq Ahmed

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 277-288)

19. Teaching & Learning Committee – Dr Andre Ivanov

- a. Principles for Digital Learning Materials Used for Assessments (approval) (docket pages 289-296)
- b. Annual Report (information) (docket pages 297-299)

20. Tributes Committee – Dr Sally Throne

Candidates for Emeritus Status (approval) (docket pages 300-302)

21. Report from the Provost – Dr Andrew Szeri

- a. Update on Strategic Plan Implementation (information) (docket pages 303-311)
- b. Inclusion Action Plan (information)
- c. Annual Report on Emeritus College (information)

22. Report from the Registrar – Dr Kathleen Ross

Operation of Senate Appeals Committees (information) (docket pages 312-314)

23. Other Business

24. IN CAMERA – Awards Committee – Dr Lawrence Burr

New Award (approval)

Section 16 (b) Of the *Rules and Procedures of the Vancouver Senate* states that meetings will adjourn no later than 8:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca