Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate

# THE FIRST REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2019/2020 ACADEMIC YEAR

## **THURSDAY, 26 SEPTEMBER 2019**

## 3:30 PM | ASC 130

#### 1. Senate Membership – Dr Kate Ross

#### a. New Members

Dr Gino DiLabio, Dean *pro tem*. of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, to replace Dr Barbara Rutherford (End of Term).

Dr Jennifer Jakobi, Dean *pro tem*. of the College of Graduate Studies, to replace Dr Dwayne Tannant (End of Term).

Dr Karen Ragoonaden (Education), Representative of the Joint Faculties, to replace Dr Jim Johnson (Rule 12) until 31 August 2020 and thereafter until replaced.

Dr Barbara Rutherford, Representative of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, to replace Dr Jason Loeppky (Resigned) until 31 August 2020 and thereafter until replaced.

Dr Claire (Yu) Yan (Applied Science), Representative of the Joint Faculties, to replace Dr Jon Corbett (Resigned) until 31 August 2020 and thereafter until replaced.

#### Resignations

Mr Gurjot Sidhu, Student Representative At-Large. A by-election has been called.

Dr Jon Corbett, Representative of the Joint Faculties.

## b. Vice-Chair of Senate

Dr Peter Arthur's term as Vice-Chair of Senate has expired. Pursuant to Rule 7 of the Senate, Dr Deborah Buszard is nominated as Vice-Chair; however, any other Senator has



until 3 pm on 26 September 2019 to nominate him or herself for the positon by sending an email to that effect to christopher.eaton@ubc.ca. Should a second or further nominations be received, an election shall occur at 3:25 pm on 26 September 2019 at ASC 130 to determine the Vice-Chair of Senate until May 2019.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 16 May 2019– Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 5-21)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- 4. **Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono** (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Relation Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard

# 6. From the Board of Governors – Dr Santa Ono

Confirmation that material from the following meetings as approved by Senate were subsequently approved by the Board of Governors as required under the University Act (information):

## March 2019

New awards

Curriculum proposals from the faculties of faculties of Applied Science, Creative and Critical Studies, Education, and Health and Social Development.

# April 2019

New awards

Curriculum proposals from the faculties of Applied Science, Arts & Sciences, Creative & Critical Studies Education, and Management.

New Programs: Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science, Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing.

# May 2019

New awards

New program: Minor in Geospatial Information Science

Curriculum proposals from the faculties of Applied Science, Arts & Sciences, and Creative & Critical Studies.



Establishment of the Canadian Institute for Inclusion and Citizenship

# 7. Candidates for Degrees – Dr Santa Ono

The list as approved by the faculties is available for advance inspection at the Senate office, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees and diplomas, as recommended by the faculties, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective September 2019, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the dean of the relevant faculty, and the Chair of Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments (approval) (2/3 majority required).

## 8. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Jan Cioe

Committee Plans for the 2019-2020 Academic Year (information)

## 9. Admissions & Awards Committee – Ms Tamara Ebl

- a. Revision to English Language Admission Requirements for Master and Doctoral Degrees (approval) (docket pages 22-26)
- b. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 27-30)
- c. Annual Report on Matters of Delegated Authority (information) (docket pages 31-32)

#### **10.** Agenda Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Amendment to the *Rules and Procedures of Senate* (approval) (docket page 33)

## 11. Joint Report of the Admission & Awards and Curriculum Committees – Ms Tamara Ebl and Dr Peter Arthur

Resumption of Admissions and Change in Program Requirements for the Bachelor of Media Studies and New and Revised Related Courses (approval) (docket pages 34-56)

## 12. Nominating Committee – Dr Jannik Eikenaar

- a. Appointment to the President's Advisory Committee for the Extension of Appointment of the Vice-Principal Research (approval) (docket page 57)
- b. Committee Appointments (approval) (docket page 57)
- c. Triennial Review of Senate Committees (information (docket page 58)

# UBC

## 13. Other Business

The *Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate* states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca