Okanagan Senate

THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate

THE EIGHTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2019/2020 ACADEMIC YEAR

THURSDAY 30 APRIL 2020

3:30 P.M. | Via Remote Attendance

1. Senate Membership

New Members:

Brendan Heerema, Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Applied Science

Sage Cannon, Representative of the Students of Creative & Critical Studies

Riley Petillion, Graduate Student Representative

Maya Pilin, Graduate Student Representative

Domitius Jarrouj, Representative of the Students At-large

Rhys Hrzeberg, Representative of the Students At-large

Jia Fu Lee, Representative of the Students At-large

Kristen Morgan, Representative of the Students At-large (Continuing)

Jassim Naqvi, Representative of the Students At-large (Continuing)

Venedict Tamandong, Representative of the Students At-large (Continuing)

Please note that elections for representatives of Education Health & Social Development and Management are still ongoing; and elections for the new faculties of Arts & Social Sciences and Sciences will occur in the new academic year.

Nominating Committee

This is a call for nominations for two (2) student members of Senate to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 March 2021 and thereafter until replaced. Nominations are due by 4 pm on Friday 15 May 2020 to christopher.eaton@ubc.ca. If more than two students are nominated, an election will be held at the May meeting of Senate in accordance with Rule 24 (e) of the Rules and Procedures of Senate.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 26 March 2020 Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 3-17)
- **3.** Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono (information)

- 4. Remarks from the Chair Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Prof. Deborah Buszard (information)
- 6. Remarks from the Provost Dr Ananya Mukherjee-Reed
- 7. Academic Policy Committee Dr Jan Cioe

New Policy: Policy J-136 – Academic Accommodation for all Students' Religious Observances and for the Cultural Observances of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Students (approval) (docket pages 18-24)

8. Admission & Awards Committee – Ms Tamara Ebl

New, Revised, Discontinued Awards (approval) (docket pages 25-33)

9. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Curriculum Proposal from the faculties of Arts & Sciences and Creative & Critical Management (approval) (docket pages 34--50)

10. Joint Report of the Admission & Awards and Curriculum Committees – Ms Tamara Ebl/Dr Peter Arthur

Revisions to the Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program and Admission Regulations (approval) (docket pages 51-58)

11. Report from the Secretary - Dr Kate Ross

Notice of a Change in Date for the May Senate Meeting to 28 May 2020 (from 14 May 2020)

12. Other Business

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca