

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

# SENATE AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

4 October 2021 3:30 pm to 4:10 pm Via Zoom

Attendees Guests

MembersDaniel GalpinDr. Lawrence BurrTanjyot KaurDr. Sally Thorne (Chair)Alex LauDr. Sue GraystonMelissa Lasko

Dr. Guy Faulkner Xiutong Tony Jiang

Dr. Matt Tan

Ex Officio

Brendan Morey

Regrets

Janine Root
Dr. Guy Faulkner
Xiutong Tony Jiang
Karen Waugh-Clark

Shivani Mehta (Vice-Chair)

Dr. Alex Scott

Call to Order The meeting of the Senate Awards Committee (the "Committee") was called to order at 3:30 p.m.

on 4 October 2021.

**Agenda** The Committee adopted the Agenda as presented.

Minutes The Committee adopted the Minutes of the 30 August 2021 meeting.

**Business Arising** There was no business arising.

**Awards** The Committee reviewed the list of awards proposed by Development and Alumni Engagement.

The principal topics of discussion were about using word limits for award descriptions and the following awards selected from the list provided to the Committee.

# **NEW AWARDS – ENDOWED**

- Don Laishley Memorial Scholarship in Forestry
- Sherry McKay Graduate Scholarship in Architectural History
- William E. Rusk Memorial Bursary in Electrical Engineering
- Kitt Turney Memorial Thunderbird Rowing Award

## Awards Cont'd NEW AWARDS - ANNUAL

- Bit Quill Technologies Award in Computer Science
- Dr. James Caswell Memorial Scholarship in Art History
- Barbara Downs Memorial Bursary in Social Work
- Dr. Mary Morehart Memorial Scholarship in Art History
- Trans-Pacific Trading Ltd Award in Forestry

## **NEW AWARDS - INTERNAL**

Marshall Prize

# PREVIOUSLY APPROVED AWARDS - Changes in Terms or Funding Source

#### **Endowed Awards**

6087 - Charles and Jane Banks Loan

4136 - ImpactBC Scholarship in Health Care Research and Development

0601 - Professor Jessie Gordon MacCarthy Memorial Scholarship

6540 - Mitchell-Dwivedi Graduate Award in Pharmaceutical Sciences

4455 – Bill Ramey Award in Microbiology and Immunology

## **Annual Awards**

5703 - William Martin Island Medical Program Student Emergency Bursary

Withdrawn from the list for consideration will be revised and brought to a future meeting.

5748 - Stober Foundation Entrance Award in Medicine

# **Motion:** That the Senate Awards Committee:

- Recommend the awards to the Senate for approval; and
- Request that the Development and Alumni Relations Office forward "thank you" letters to donors on behalf of the University.

**APPROVED** 

Other Business None.

**Matters Arising** There were no matters arising.

**Next Meeting** The next meeting of the Committee will be held as required.

**Adjournment** The meeting adjourned at 4:10 pm.