

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

SENATE AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Monday 24 January 2022 3:31-4:43 pm

via Zoom

Attendees

Senators R. Boushel L. Burr G. Faulkner S. Grayston T. Jiang	Ŋ	Ex Officio J. Chin D. Galpin B. Morey K. Waugh-Clark	Regrets J. Hsiao K. Ross A. Scott A. Yim
S. Mehta (Vice-Chair M. Tan S. Thorne (Chair)	-)	Guests T. Kaur M. Lasko A. Lau	Senate Staff B. Menard
Call to Order and Territorial Acknowledgement	The meeting of the Senate Awards Committee (the "Committee") was called to order at 3:31 pm on 24 January 2022 by Sally Thorne, Chair.		
Agenda	THAT THE So presented.	enate Awards Committee adopts th	ne 24 January 2022 agenda as Carried by General Consent.
Minutes	THAT THE So minutes as p	enate Awards Committee approves presented	the 29 November 2021 meeting
			Carried by General Consent.
Business Arising	B. Morey noted that the minutes from 1 November 2021 were not presented to the Committee.		
	S. TI Offi	on Item: horne to provide records from 1 N ce. Senate Office to ensure that al etings are posted on the Awards Co	I minutes from Committee
	• New	s from 29 November 2021 Meetin / Award – Peter A. Allard School of lents	-

	 D. Galpin noted that this award was removed from the report going to Senate in December. The award has been included for consideration by the Committee at this meeting. New Award – Diamond Head Consulting Award in Forestry for Indigenous Students S. Thorne confirmed that this award was approved by Senate. New Award – JLL Award for Black Students D. Galpin confirmed that details regarding the adjudication for this award still need to be confirmed before it will be included for review by
	the Committee.
	Revised Award – British Columbia Dental Association Award
New and Revised No Awards	 Judy Lynne Adams Memorial Scholarship Alan R. Casselman Bursary in Forestry Anna Hejja Memorial Bursary in Forestry George and Sylvia Melville Southern Medical Program Entrance Award Professor Andrew "Andy" Mular Memorial Award in Mining Engineering Porte Communities Award in Commerce Roberts Memorial Bursary in Engineering John Robinson Memorial Award in Opera Dean Rickey Yada Award in Land and Food Systems Dr. Joe R. Zhao Award in Chemical and Biological Engineering
Ν	 Peter A. Allard School of Law Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award Peter A. Allard School of Law Entrance Award for Black Students Amazon Web Services, Inc. Award in Business Technology Arbutus Search Group Centennial Indigenous Scholars Award Action Item: DAE Awards Office to seek clarification about whether studying in a business program is part of the award criteria or the award's biographical information, and to determine whether the award name needs to include "in Commerce".
Awards	 D. Galpin confirmed that details regarding the adjudication for this award still need to be confirmed before it will be included for review be the Committee. Revised Award – British Columbia Dental Association Award Judy Lynne Adams Memorial Scholarship Alan R. Casselman Bursary in Forestry Anna Hejja Memorial Bursary in Forestry George and Sylvia Melville Southern Medical Program Entrance Award Professor Andrew "Andy" Mular Memorial Award in Mining Engineeri Porte Communities Award in Commerce Roberts Memorial Bursary in Engineering John Robinson Memorial Award in Opera Dean Rickey Yada Award in Land and Food Systems Dr. Joe R. Zhao Award in Chemical and Biological Engineering Peter A. Allard School of Law Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award Peter A. Allard School of Law Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award Amazon Web Services, Inc. Award in Business Technology Arbutus Search Group Centennial Indigenous Scholars Award Action Item: DAE Awards Office to seek clarification about whether studying in a business program is part of the award criteria or the award's biographical information, and to determine whether the award nam

Action Item: DAE Awards Office to correct spelling of "U BC" to "UBC".

• International Taoist Church of Canada Scholarship in Nursing

Action Item:

DAE Awards Office to update availability to "first award available will be 2022/23".

• Kievell Scholarship in Nursing

Discussion ensued regarding the criteria that this award only be available to female nursing students.

Action Item:

Senate Office to consult University Counsel about the implications of the gender exclusion prior to this award being presented to Senate.

- Kievell Scholarship in Physical Therapy
- Kievell Scholarship in Occupational Therapy
- Procon Mining and Tunnelling Ltd. Award in Commerce for Indigenous Students

Action Item:

DAE Awards Office to update the biographical information based on feedback from UBC's Strategic Indigenous Enrolment Initiatives Office.

• UBC Undergraduate Prize in Library Research

Action Item:

DAE Awards Office to confirm the intended purpose of this award with the donor.

• Ming Leung Memorial Scholarship in Physical Therapy

New Awards – Internal

• Department of Orthopaedics Research Day Prize for Graduate Students

Action Item:

DAE Awards Office to confirm and update the total value of the award.

• Department of Orthopaedics Research Day Prize for Medical Residents

Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding – Endowed Awards

• John Tiedje Fellowship

Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Annual Awards

- Annual Review Insolvency Law Prize → Annual Review of Insolvency Law Prize
- Roman M. Babicki Fellowship in Medial Research
- Kievell Scholarship \rightarrow Kievell Scholarship in Medicine

THAT THE Senate Awards Committee approves and recommends to Senate the new awards and proposed changes to previously approved awards as circulated.

Moved: L. Burr Seconded: G. Faulkner Carried.

Other Business	None.
Next Meeting	The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Monday 28 February 2022 from 3:30-5:00 pm.
Adjournment	The meeting adjourned at 4:43pm.