Vancouver Senate Admissions Committee

MINUTES OF 27 SEPTEMER 2023 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Via zoom

Attendance: Dr. Agnes d'Entremont (Senator, Faculty of Applied Science)

Kevin Doering (Convocation Senator)

Dr. Nancy Ford (Senator, Faculty of Dentistry)

Dr. Fawziah Lalji (Senator, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences)
Dr Jackie Stewart (Joint Faculties Senator – Faculty of Science)
Dr. James Charbonneau (Associate Dean, Faculty of Science)
Prof. Carol Jaeger (Associate Dean, Faculty of Applied Science)

Brendan Morey (Assistant Dean, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies)

Dr. Marion Pearson (Associate Dean, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences) Elicia Salzberg (Senior Associate Dean, Faculty of Commerce and Business

Administration)

Dr. Shahin Shirzad (Assistant Dean, Faculty of Medicine)

Dr. Zhaoming Xu (Associate Dean, Faculty of Land and Food Systems)

Regrets: Dr. Joanne Fox (Joint Faculties Senator – Faculty of Science)

Dr. Bhushan Gopaluni (Associate Vice-President Academic, as designated by

the Academic Vice-President)

Kareem Hassib (Student Senator, At-large)

Samuel Kenston (Student Senator, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies)

Dr. Laurie McNeill (Associate Dean, Faculty of Arts)

Dr. Ingrid Price (Senator, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences)

Sam Saini (Head of unit responsible for undergraduate admissions, as

designated by the Registrar)

Guests: Dr. Joseph Anthony (Associate Director, Health Professions)

Dr. Paola Colozzo | Interim Director, School of Audiology and Speech

Sciences

Secretariat: A. Breen and B. Menard

ITEM 1: CALL TO ORDER AND LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT – A. Breen

Ms. Breen called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

ITEM 2: WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Committee members and guests were invited to introduce themselves.

ITEM 3: ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The agenda was adopted by general consent.

ITEM 4: COMMITTEE OVERVIEW AND ORIENTATION

A. Breen, B. Menard and former Committee Chair Dr. C. Jaeger provided and overview of the committee's mandate and primary responsibilities.

ITEM 5: CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

A.Breen noted that following a call for nominations, two nominations were received for Committee Chair and 1 nomination for Committee Vice-Chair. Normally, an election would be held by confidential email ballot during the meeting, but as the Committee did not reach quorum for the meeting, the election would be held via email ballot following the meeting.

With the Committee's consent, outgoing Committee Chair Dr. Jaeger, chaired the remainder of the meeting.

ITEM 6: MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF 26 JULY 2023 (approval)

Z. Xu E. Salzberg	}	That the Minutes of the meeting of 26 July 2023 be approved, as circulated.
----------------------	---	---

Approved

As the Committee did not meet quorum, it was noted that the Minutes will either be circulated via email for ratification or added to the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Committee.

ITEM 7: BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

As per ITEM 6.

ITEM 8: MASTER OF SCIENCE IN SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY DISTRIBUTED PROGRAM – VICTORIA COHORT) (approval)

The Chair invited Dr. Anthony and Dr. Colozzo to present the proposal to create a new cohort of the Master of Speech Language Pathology.

In response to a question, Dr. Colozzo clarified that if there are more students indicating a preference for the Victoria program than there are seats, applicants will be ranked and those that the expanded program cannot accommodate will be offered a seat at UBC's Point Grey campus. Alternately, if fewer students indicate preference for the proposed distributed site than available seats, the remaining seats would be filed with applicants who may have indicated a preference for the Point Grey campus.

With respect to flexibility for students to move between the two sites for clinical placements, Dr. Colozzo confirmed that given the variables and considerations for clinical placements, there will be no restrictions related to where a student can/will be placed.

The Chair called for a motion as follows:

S. Shirzad M. Pearson	That the Committee approve and recommend to Senate for approval the Master of Speech Language Pathology Distributed Program – Victoria Cohort.
--------------------------	--

Approved

ITEM 9: MASTER OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY – POST-ACCEPTANCE REQUIREMENTS (approval)

The Chair invited Dr. Anthony to present post-acceptance requirements for students admitted to the Master of Occupational Therapy program. Dr. Anthony noted that the requirements are not new and are being added to the Calendar for clarity and transparency.

In response to a question regarding the supplementary application, Dr. Anthony confirmed that it is only required for applicants who are interested in the cohort located at the University of Northern British Columbia to determine their suitability for the location.

With respect to a question regarding the criminal record check, it was confirmed that it is required by the licensing agencies for healthcare programs; students admitted to healthcare programs must be eligible for licensure. Applicants whose records show criminal activity that is not deemed to pose a risk to the public may be eligible for licensure provided that it can be mitigated by the licensing body.

Following discussion, one minor editorial change was suggested to clarify that the non-refundable deposit is applied towards tuition, rather than the first installment of tuition.



Approved

ITEM 10: 2023-2024 COMMITTEE MEETING DATES

It was noted that the meeting time should be corrected to 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. The meeting dates for the 2023-2024 academic year were vetted, as listed on the agenda.

ITEM 11: OTHER BUSINESS

None.

ITEM 12: NEXT MEETING - 25 OCTOBER 2023 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. via ZOOM

ITEM 13: ADJOURNMENT

Prior to adjournment, it was noted that outgoing Committee Chair Dr. Jaeger has led the Committee for the last two Senate triennia (2017-2020 and 2020-2023), supporting the Committee in navigating complex and sometimes difficult matters. The Committee expressed its sincere gratitude for her excellent leadership and support of Committee members.