

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca

senate.ubc.ca

# SENATE AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday 23 January 2024 from 2:31-3:24 pm via Zoom

**Attendees** 

Senators B. Britton, L. Burr (Chair), J. Cool (Vice-Chair), S. Grayston, R. Kim, S. Razia

**Ex Officio** J. Chin, S. Floyd, D. Galpin, B. Morey

Guests A. Cunningham, T. Kaur, M. Lasko, A. Lau

**Regrets** J. Hsiao, S. Kenston, F. Lalji, R. Ng, C. Overall, S. Porter

Senate Staff B. Menard

Call to Order and

Land

Acknowledgement

The meeting of the Senate Awards Committee (the "Committee") was called to

order at 2:31 pm on 23 January 2024 by L. Burr, Chair.

**Agenda** Motion: That the Senate Awards Committee adopts the 23 January 2024

agenda.

Moved: S. Grayston Seconded: J. Chin Carried.

Minutes Motion: That the Senate Awards Committee approves the 21 November 2023

meeting minutes.

Moved: S. Grayston Seconded: R. Kim Carried.

**Business Arising** None.

### Category 1 New Awards Endowed

- Dr. Kwadwo Asante Entrance Award in Medicine for Black Students
- Stephen Boersma Memorial Award in Accounting
- Elaine Borthwick and Allen Soroka Award in Law

### **Action Item:**

Remove space between third-year.

- N.C. Cheung Family Memorial Bursary in Engineering
- Dr. Marketa Goetz-Stankiewicz Memorial Scholarship
- Dr. Kendall Ho Award in Digital Emergency Medicine

## THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA



#### Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239
Fax 604 822 5945
Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca
senate.ubc.ca

- Jonathan Lu Award in Supply Chain Management
- Mosaic Forest Management Entrance Award for Indigenous Students

#### **Action Item:**

Update from "for undergraduate students entering the Faculty of Forestry who are First Nations, Inuit, or Métis of Canada" to "for First Nations, Inuit, or Métis undergraduate students of Canada entering the Faculty of Forestry".

- Samit and Reshma Sharma Graduate Scholarship in Forestry
- Samit and Reshma Sharma Graduate Scholarship in Mining Engineering
- Samit and Reshma Sharma Graduate Scholarship in Physics
- Don Lindsay Teck Award in Mining Engineering
- Tejpar-Ladak Award
- G.H. Neil Towers Award in Plant Natural Products

#### **New Awards Annual**

- Peter A. Allard School of Law Athletics Award
- Holly Ewanyshyn Women's Health Equity Graduate Research Award
- Implant Genius Scholarship in Periodontics
- Jack Howard Jackson Bursary for Indigenous Students
- Shig Kobayashi Memorial Award in Pharmacy
- Lee Stewart Levin Bursary for Women in Arts

### **Action Item:**

Add "in" to "Preference will be given to students studying [in] the Gender, Race, Sexuality, and Social Justice program."

- Phil Lind Memorial Fellowship in Public Policy and Global Affairs
- Garry Douglas McCorrie Memorial Scholarship in Medicine
- Akash Villing & Family Prize for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
- Akash Villing & Family Award for Community Service
- Dr. Joshua Yoneda Memorial Award in Medicine
- Mee Ying Yue and Ken Tow Yue Award

# Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Endowed Awards

• 5778 - Entrance Award in Medicine for Black Students

Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Annual Awards

## THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA



#### Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239
Fax 604 822 5945
Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca

- 7659 College of Pharmacists BC Bursary → College of Pharmacists of BC Bursary in Pharmaceutical Sciences
- 8509 Juhn and Mary Wada First Nations Bursary → Juhn and Mary Wada Bursary in Medicine for Indigenous Students

#### **Action Item:**

Update from "for M.D. students who are First Nations, Inuit or Métis of Canada" to "for First Nations, Inuit or Métis students of Canada in the M.D. program".

**Motion:** That the Senate Awards Committee approves and recommends to Senate for approval the new awards and proposed changes to previously approved awards.

Moved: S. Grayston Seconded: J. Cool Carried.

# Category 2 Revisions to Awards Affected by the Transition from Queen Elizabeth II to King Charles III

- 5956 Entrance Award in Law for Indigenous Students
- 5951 Bill Maclagan Award in Law
- 2616 Kellough Tillinghast Nitikman Prize in Tax Law
- 4061 Art Vertlieb Thunderbird Men's Hockey Award
- 5936 Wayne Robertson, Q.C. Access to Justice Award → Wayne Robertson, KC Access to Justice Award
- 5934 Nancy Cameron, Q.C. Prize in Family Law → Nancy Cameron, KC Prize in Family Law
- 8678 John C. Armstrong, QC Bursary in Law → John C. Armstrong, KC Bursary in Law
- 5920 J.E. (Jack) Klinck, Q.C., Indigenous Student Award → J.E. (Jack) Klinck, KC, Indigenous Student Award
- 8592 Peggy and Tom English QC, Bursary in Law → Peggy and Tom English KC, Bursary in Law
- Anne M. Stewart, Q.C. Student Emergency Fund in Law → Anne M.
   Stewart, KC Student Emergency Fund in Law
- 5884 The Hon. Grant D. Burnyeat, Q.C. Award in Law → The Hon. Grant D. Burnyeat, KC Award in Law
- 5878 ZSA National Post Award in Honour of Ken Bagshaw, QC → ZSA National Post Award in Honour of Ken Bagshaw, KC
- 7362 Shum Siu Fung Memorial Entrance Bursary
- 5860 Okanagan Bar Association Entrance Scholarship in Law
- 5859 Judith A. Mauro Bowers, QC Prize in Appellate Advocacy → Judith A. Mauro Bowers, KC Prize in Appellate Advocacy

## THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

- 5849 Gerald Donegan, QC Prize in Canadian Constitutional Law → Gerald Donegan, KC Prize in Canadian Constitutional Law
- 2611 Edwards Kenny and Bray Founders Scholarship

# Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Annual Awards

- Wheaton Precious Metals Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award in Mining
- 2614 Fraser Litigation Group Scholarship for Excellence in Law

#### **Action Item:**

Add "available" to "made [available] annually" to match standard intro sentence.

# Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Internal Awards

- 4087 Outstanding Thunderbird International Varsity Award
- 4088 Renewable Thunderbird International Varsity Award

**Motion:** That the Senate Awards Committee approves the proposed changes to previously approved awards.

Moved: S. Grayston Seconded: B. Britton Carried.

### **Other Business**

B. Britton asked when the Committee will be discussing their response to the Triennial Review recommendation regarding consideration of whether to update the Committee's Terms of Reference to include reference to UBC's Indigenous Strategic Plan. In response, B. Menard confirmed that the discussion will be on the Committee's March agenda. Discussion ensued about what will be considered in that discussion.

**Next Meeting** 

Tuesday, February 22, 2024 from 3:30-5:00 pm

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:24 pm.