THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA | OKANAGAN



OKANAGAN SENATE SECRETARIAT

Enrolment Services Senate and Curriculum Services

3333 University Way

Kelowna, BC · V1V 1V7

Tel: (250) 807-9259 · Fax: (250) 807-8007

www.senate.ubc.ca

OKANAGAN SENATE AGENDA

Wednesday 14 January 2009

3:30pm - 5:30pm

LIB 317 | UBC OKANAGAN CAMPUS

- 1. Senate Membership Acting Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services & Registrar, Mr. Fred Vogt
 - a. New Senator Ms. Carolyn Cody, Student Representative At-large (approval)
 - That Ms. Carolyn Cody be appointed as a Student Representative Atlarge (to replace Mr. Matthew Koovisk) until March 31, 2009 and thereafter until a successor is elected.
 - b. New Senator Mr. Matthew Koovisk, Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (approval)
 - That Mr. Matthew Koovisk be appointed as the Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (to replace Ms. Vanna Lymberopoulos) until March 31, 2009 and thereafter until a successor is elected.
 - c. Dean Marvin Krank replaced Dr. Cynthia Mathieson as Dean of the College of Graduate Studies (information)
 - d. Acting Dean Dr. Cynthia Mathieson replaced Dr. Bernard Bauer as Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (information)
- 2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting, 10 December 2008 Vice-Chair Dr. Doug Owram (approval) (circulated Item 2)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Vice-Chair Dr. Doug Owram
 - a. Oral Update on the Graduate Studies Review Dr. Jan Cioe (information)
- 4. Vice-Chair's Remarks and Related Questions Dr. Doug Owram

5. Correspondence – Vice-Chair Dr. Doug Owram

a. Season's Greetings and Best Wishes from the UBC Board of Governors

6. Nominating Committee – Dr. Carol Scarff

a. Joint Committee of the Board and Senates on University Coordination (approval) (to be circulated – Item 6a)

7. Agenda Committee – Mr. Robert Chavarie

a. Chair of meetings of Senate in the absence of the President and the elected Vice-Chair (approval) (circulated – Item 7a)

8. Curriculum Committee – Mr. Christopher Eaton

 a. Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Arts and Sciences, Applied Science, and Creative and Critical Studies (approval) (circulated – Item 8a)

9. Admissions and Awards Committee – Dr. Sharon McCoubrey

a. New Award (approval) (circulated – Item 9a)

10. Reports from the Acting Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services & Registrar – Mr. Fred Vogt

- a. Regular Senate Meeting Schedule 2009/2010 (information) (circulated Item 10a)
- b. Academic Year 2009/2010 (information) (circulated Item 10b)

11. Other Business

Regrets: Kelly Ross (250) 807-9259 or email kelly.ross@ubc.ca
UBC Senate Homepage http://www.senate.ubc.ca/index.cfm