

Master Page 1 of 110
The University of British Columbia
Senate & Curriculum Services
Enrolment Services
Okanagan Campus
3333 University Way
Kelowna, BC Canada V1V 1V7

www.senate.ubc.ca

# Okanagan Senate

# THE THIRD REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2012/2013 ACADEMIC YEAR

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 20, 2012 3:30 P.M. to 5:30 P.M. ASC 130 OKANAGAN CAMPUS

### 1. Senate Membership – Mr James Ridge

# a. New Senator (approval):

The Secretary of Senate calls for the following motion on the recommendation of the students' union:

That Mr Tim Krupa be elected as a Student Representative at Large (replacing Ms Janet Lawson) until 31 March 2013 and thereafter until replaced.

# **b.** New Senators (information)

Dr Yves Lucet, Associate Professor, Computer Science, Faculty Representative for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (replacing Dr Daniel Murray)

Dr Roger Sugden, Dean of Management (replacing Dr Spiro Yannacopoulous who remains as a Representative of the Joint Faculties)

Dr Ying Zhu, Assistant Professor of Management, Faculty Representative for the Faculty of Management (replacing Dr Gurupdesh Pandher)

#### c. Call for Nominations (information)

One (1) faculty representative or Dean to replace Dr Gurupdesh Pandher to serve on the Nominating Committee until August 31, 2014 and thereafter until a successor is elected. Nominations are due to the Secretary by 20 November 2012.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 17 September 2012 Prof. Deborah Buszard (approval) (Master Pages 3-13)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes
- **4. President's Remarks Prof. Stephen J. Toope** (information) (master pages 14-37) Record of President's Activities for 1 March 2012 to 24 August 2012
- **5. Deputy Vice-Chancellor's Remarks Prof. Deborah Buszard** (information)
- **6. Candidates for Degrees** (Approval)

Lists submitted by the Faculties are available for advance inspection at

\_\_\_\_\_

Enrolment Services and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees, as recommended by the faculties and the College of Graduate Studies, be granted the degrees for which there were recommended, effective November 2012, and that a committee composed of the Registrar, the appropriate dean(s) or their appointed designates, and the Chair of the Okanagan Senate, be empowered to make any necessary adjustments.

(2/3 majority required)

7. Joint Report of the Admission & Awards and Curriculum Committees – Drs Dwayne Tannant & Spiro Yannacopoulos (approval) (master pages 38-68)

Bachelor of Social Work (B.S.W.) Program – Suspension of Admission and Program Discontinuation

**8.** Curriculum Committee – Dr Dwayne Tannant (approval) (master pages 69-106)

November Curriculum Report

- **9.** Nominating Committee Mr Curtis Tse (approval)
  - a. Student Senator Committee Reassignments (master page 107)
  - b. Senate Learning and Research Committee: Adjustments to Ex-Officio Membership (master page 108)
  - c. Election of Student Senators to the Council of Senates (master page 109)
  - d. Senate Curriculum Committee Membership (master page 110)

#### **10. Report from the Provost – Dr W. Wesley Pue** (information)

Online Teaching Evaluations

#### 11. Other Business

**12.** Learning & Research Committee – in camera – Dr Peter Arthur (approval) (to be circulated at the meeting)

Candidates for Honorary Degrees

Regrets: Kristen Elder, telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: kristen.elder@ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca