www.senate.ubc.ca



Okanagan Senate

THE FIRST REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2013/2014 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY 25 SEPTEMBER 2013 3:30 P.M. to 5:30 P.M. ASC 130 | OKANAGAN CAMPUS

1. Senate Membership – Ms Maggie Hartley

a. New Members (information) (master page 3)

Ms Heather Berringer, designate of the University Librarian, to replace Ms Melody Burton

Dr Cynthia Mathieson, Provost Pro. Tem. to replace Dr Gordon Binsted

Dr Marc Parlange, Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science, to replace Dean *Pro Tem.* Eric Hall

Dr Barbara Rutherford, Acting Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences to replace Dean Cynthia Mathieson

Dr Edward Taylor, Acting Dean of the Faculty of Health & Social Development, to replace Dean Gordon Binsted

b. Call for Nominations (information):

Two senators (one of whom must be a student) to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 16 May 2013 Prof. Deborah Buszard (approval) (master pages 4-15)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Prof. Deborah Buszard
- 4. President's Remarks Prof. Stephen J Toope

Record of President's Activities from 10 March 2013 to 3 May 2013 (information) (master pages 16-25)

5. Deputy Vice-Chancellor's Remarks – Prof. Deborah Buszard

- a. Record of Deputy Vice-Chancellor's Activities from 15 March 15 September 2013 (information) (master pages 26-29)
- b. Announcement of New Okanagan Campus Ombuds Officer, Maria Mazzotta (information)

6. Joint Report of the Academic Policy and Learning & Research Committees – Drs Peter Arthur and Jan Cioe

Amendments to Current Policy on Student Evaluation of Teaching (approval) (master pages 30-35)

7. Admissions and Awards Committee – Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos

New and Revised Awards (approval) (master pages 36-39)

8. Nominating Committee – Dr Deborah Roberts

- a. Appointment of Student Senators to Senate Standing Committees (approval) (master pages 40-41)
- b. Revisions to Joint Senate/Board Policy # 21 Appointment of Deans and Principals (approval) (master pages 42-54)
- c. Appointments to the President's Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Vice-Principal Research (Associate Vice-President Research) (approval) (master pages 55)

9. Report from the Provost – Dr Cynthia Mathieson

Establishment of the Centre for Mindful Engagement in the Faculty of Education (information) (master pages 56-79)

10. Report from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor – Prof. Deborah Buszard

Okanagan Campus Visioning (information/discussion) (master pages 80-84)

11. Other Business

Regrets: telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca