www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate THE SECOND REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2013/2014 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY 30 OCTOBER 2013 3:30 P.M. to 5:30 P.M. ASC 130 | OKANAGAN CAMPUS

1. Senate Membership – Ms Maggie Hartley

a. New Members (information)

Dr Ian Stuart, Faculty Representative for the Faculty of Management, to fill a vacancy

b. New Student Members (approval)

The Secretary calls for the following motion:

That Senate appoint Mr Wesley McLean (Student Representative for the Faculty of Applied Science) and Mr Doug Whitelaw (Graduate Student Representative) to Senate on the recommendation of the Students' Union until 31 March 2014 and thereafter until replaced.

c. Call for Nominations (information):

Two senators (one of whom must be a student) to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee (Third call for nominations)

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 25 September 2013 Dr Peter Arthur (approval) (master pages X-XX)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Peter Arthur
- 4. President's Remarks Prof. Stephen J. Toope (information)
- 5. From the Board of Governors Prof. Stephen J. Toope (information)

Confirmation that the following items approved by the Okanagan Senate were subsequently approved by the Board of Governors as required under the *University Act:*

16 May 2013

New Awards

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science, Arts & Sciences, and Creative & Critical Studies

24 April 2013

Revised Awards

6. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Jan Cioe

Terms of Reference for the Faculty of Education Council (approval) (master pages XX-XX)

7. Joint Report of the Admission & Awards and Curriculum Committees– Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos and Mr Ramine Adl/Dr Dwayne Tannant

New Master of Fine Arts (MFA) program and revisions to the Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies (IGS) program (approval) (master pages XX-XX)

8. Admissions and Awards Committee – Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos

Revisions to admission requirements for applicants to the Bachelor of Science in Nursing programs following the BC/Yukon Secondary School Curriculum (approval) (master pages XX-XX)

9. Curriculum Committee – Mr Ramine Adl/Dr Dwayne Tannant

Curriculum proposals from the Faculty of Applied Science (approval) (master pages XX-XX)

10. Nominating Committee – Dr Deborah Roberts

- a. Appointments to Senate Committees (approval) (master page XX)
- b. Adjustments to Student Senator Committee Assignments (approval) (master page XX)

11. Other Business

Regrets: telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca