THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA



OKANAGAN SENATE SECRETARIAT Enrolment Services Senate and Curriculum Services

Okanagan Campus University Centre · UNC 322 3333 University Way Kelowna, BC · V1V 1V7 Tel: (250) 807-9259 · Fax: (250) 807-8007 www.senate.ubc.ca

OKANAGAN SENATE

MINUTES

Wednesday November 24, 2010

3:30 pm to 5:30 pm

ART 386 | UBC OKANAGAN CAMPUS

Attendance

Present: Dr. D. Owram (Vice-Chair), Mr. J. Ridge (Secretary), Dr. A. Abd-El-Aziz (Provost and Vice-Principal), Dr. P. Arthur, Dr. P. Balcaen, Dean L. Bosetti, Ms. M. Burton, Dr. J. Castricano, Dr. J. Cheng, Dean M. Courtney, Dr. M. Duran-Cogan, Dr. C. Hodge, Dr. J. Holzman, Dr. J. Johnson, Dr. G. Jones, Dr. D. Keyes, Dean M. Krank, Dr. B. Lalonde, Ms. E. Landry, Ms. S. Larose, Ms. M. Laviolette, Dr. S. McCoubrey, Dr. B. Mack, Dean C. Mathieson, Dr. B. Nilson, Mr. C. Norman, Dr. B. O'Connor, Dr. G. Pandher, Acting Dean K. Phillips, Dr. M. Rheault, Ms. L. Super, Mr. D. Vineberg, Mr. C. Wain, Ms. A. Weiss, Dr. S. Yannacopoulos, Ms. G. Zilm

Guests: Ms. L. Collins, Mr. C. Eaton, Ms. N. Hager, Mr. F. Vogt

Regrets: Dean T. Aboulnasr, Mr. N. Cadger, Dr. J. Cioe, Dr. F. de Scally, Ms. L. Driscoll, Mr. S. Joseph, Ms. S. Morgan-Silvester, Dean D. Muzyka, Dr. H. Najjaran, Mr. B. Paton, Ms. L. Patterson, Dr. B. Schulz-Cruz, Prof. S. J. Toope, Ms. M. Woodward

Recording Secretary: Ms. K. Ross

Call to Order

In the absence of the President, Vice-Chair Dr. Owram called to order the third regular meeting of the Senate for the 2010/2011 academic year. The assembly agreed to allow a camera at the meeting.

Approval of the Agenda

As requested by Dean Krank, Dr. Owram asked that the Joint Report of the Admissions and Awards Committee and the Curriculum Committee be withdrawn from consideration by the Senate. The revised agenda was approved by unanimous consent.

Senate Membership

Nominating Committee

Motion: Mr. D. Vineberg Seconded: Mr. C. Wain

That Ms. Samantha Larose be elected to serve on the Nominating Committee until 31 March 2011 and thereafter until a successor is elected.

The motion was put and carried.

Minutes of the Previous Meeting, 27 October 2010

| Moved: | Ms. Laviolette |
|-----------|----------------|
| Seconded: | Dr. Castricano |

That the minutes of the Okanagan Senate meeting of 27 October 2010 be adopted as presented.

The motion was put and carried.

Granting of Degrees

The Chair called for the following motion:

| Moved: | Dr. McCoubrey |
|-----------|---------------|
| Seconded: | Dr. Rheault |

That the candidates for degrees, as recommended by the Faculties and the College of Graduate Studies, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective November 2010, and that a committee composed of the Registrar, the appropriate Dean(s), and their appointed delegates, and the Chair of the Okanagan Senate, be empowered to make any necessary adjustments (2/3 majority required).

The motion was put and carried.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor's Remarks

Board of Governors Policy 14: Response to Threatening Behaviour

Dr. Owram reported that the Office of the University Counsel would be consulting on revisions to Policy 14: *Response to Threatening Behaviour* (for the full text of the policy see the Office of the University Counsel website at <u>www.universitycounsel.ubc.ca/news</u> to be posted beginning December 7, 2010 until February 14, 2011). Following the consultation period the revised policy would be considered by the Board of Governors at its meeting April 5, 2011.

Reappointment of Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal

Dr. Owram confirmed that the Board of Governors had approved his reappointment as Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal for a new one-year term, effective July 1, 2011.

Resignation of Provost and Vice-Principal

Dr. Owram announced that Dr. Alaa S. Abd-El-Aziz, Provost and Vice Principal Academic and Research, had been appointed as President of the University of Prince Edward Island (UPEI) commencing July 1, 2011. Dr. Owram reported that a search invoked by Board of Governors Policy 18: *Appointment of Designated Senior Academic Administrators* would be forthcoming to fill the important position. Mr. Eaton verified that four representatives of the Okanagan Senate (including one undergraduate student and one graduate student) would be appointed to the Selection Committee

In response to an inquiry from Dean Krank, Dr. Owram stated that various revisions to the *University Act* had been recommended to better align the position titles and position descriptions for several senior academic administrators at UBC's Okanagan campus; those changes had not yet been resolved. Dr. Owram assured the assembly that candidates would be notified of the practical realities of the Provost and Vice-Principal's position.

Further to Dean Krank's second inquiry around the search processes for the various current and pending deans' vacancies, Mr. Eaton noted that the representatives of the graduate students must first be confirmed for the Dean of the College of Graduate Studies Search Committee before that process could commence. Dr. Abd-El-Aziz noted that in light of his resignation Dr. Owram would assume the role of co-chair of the Search Committee.

Admissions and Awards Committee

Committee Chair Dr. Sharon McCoubrey presented the report.

New Awards

See also, 'Appendix A: New Awards'

Moved: Dr. McCoubrey Seconded: Dr. Yannacopoulos

That Senate accept the new awards as listed and forward them to the Board of Governors for approval; and that letters of thanks be sent to the donors.

Discussion

In response to a question from Dr. Owram, Dr. McCoubrey confirmed that both awards would be funded as one-time awards for the minimum time permitted.

The motion was moved and carried.

Nominating Committee

Committee Chair Dr. Duran-Cogan presented the report.

Triennial Review of the Senate Standing Committees

| Moved: | Dr. Duran-Cogan |
|-----------|-----------------|
| Seconded: | Ms. Landry |

Discussion

Mr. Eaton confirmed that the Senate had the power to revise the quorum for its standing committees, pursuant to s.17(b) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate*.

The motion was put and carried.

In Camera: Report from the Learning and Research Committee on Candidates for 2011 Honorary Degrees

In closed session, the assembly considered recommendations from the Learning and Research Committee with respect to candidates for honorary degrees.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned. The following regular meeting of the Senate was scheduled for Wednesday January 26, 2011 at 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm in ART 386.

Appendix A: New Awards

Henderson Award in International Development: A \$1,000 award is offered by the Henderson family through the Shuswap Community Foundation to an undergraduate or graduate student at The University of British Columbia, Okanagan campus who is participating in an international health and/or international community development initiative taking place in a developing country, with preference given to an international student. The award is made by Faculty, School or College nomination to the Office of Student Financial Assistance and Awards. (First award available for the 2010/11 Winter Session)

Lynn Fairey Award in Nursing: A \$1,500 award is offered in honour of Lynn Fairey to a student entering fourth year in the School of Nursing in the Faculty of Health and Social Development at The University of British Columbia, Okanagan campus. The award is made on the recommendation of the Faculty for a student who has demonstrated interest and aptitude in the area of psychiatry and/or seniors' mental health. Lynn Fairey is a VGH and UBC registered nurse graduate with a lifelong interest in psychiatry and seniors' mental health. (First award available for the 2010/11 Winter Session)