Docket Page 1 of 55 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

# Okanagan Senate

# THE FIRST MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2022/2023 ACADEMIC YEAR

# THURSDAY, 29 SEPTEMBER 2022 3:30 P.M. to 5:00 P.M. ASC 130 and via Zoom

- 1. Call to Order Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 2. Membership Dr Kate Ross
  - a) New Member:
    - Dr Rehan Sadiq, Vice-President Academic and Provost, to replace Dr Rehan Sadiq, Vice-President Academic and Provost *Pro Tem*.
  - b) Election of a Vice-Chair of Senate

    Pursuant to the *Rules and Procedures of Senate*, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Dr

    Lesley Cormack is nominated. Other senators may also be nominated by

    contacting the Clerk prior to the start of the meeting. If further nominations occur,

    an election will be held directly prior to the meeting being called to order.
- 3. Minutes of the Meetings of 19 and 31 August May 2022 Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 3-22)
- 4. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 5. Report from the President Dr Santa Ono
  - Anti-Racism and Inclusive Excellence Task Force Report with Drs Shirley Chau and Handel Wright (information) (docket pages 23-31)
- 6. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 7. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Dr Lesley Cormack (information)
- 8. Remarks from the Provost and Related Questions Dr Rehan Sadiq (information)

Docket Page 2 of 55 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

## 9. Candidates for Degrees - Dr Santa

The list as approved by the faculties is available for advance inspection at the Senate office, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees and diplomas, as recommended by the faculties, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective September 2022, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the dean of the relevant faculty, and the Chair of Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments (approval) (2/3 majority required).

## 10. Academic Policy Committee - Dr Jan Cioe

Policy O-135: Academic Concession (approval) (docket pages 32-44)

#### 11. Curriculum Committee – Dr Yves Lucet

Curriculum Changes for Workday Student Implementation (approval) (docket pages 45-50)

#### 12. Nominating Committee – Dr Jannik Eikenaar

- a) Presidential Search Committee (approval) (docket page 51)
- b) Committee Adjustment (approval) (docket page 51)

#### 13. Ad Hoc Committee on Course Scheduling – Prof. Rob Johnson

Interim Report (information) (docket page 52)

#### 14. Report from the Registrar – Dr Kate Ross

- a) 19 September 2022 and the Academic Year (approval) (docket page 53)
- b) Board of Governors By-Election Results (information) (docket page 54)
- c) Faculty of Education Student Senator Election Results (information) (docket page 55)

#### 15. Other Business