Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945

Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

SENATE AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Monday 24 October 2022 from 3:31-4:28 pm via Zoom

Attendees

Senators L. Burr, G. Faulkner, S. Grayston, T. Jiang (Vice-Chair), K. Khosla, A. Scott,

S. Thorne (Chair)

Ex Officio S. Floyd, J. Hsiao, B. Morey, S. Wright

Guests A. Cunningham, D. Galpin, M. Lasko

Regrets R. Boushel, J. Chin, M. Tan, A. Yim

Senate Staff B. Menard

Call to Order and

Land

Acknowledgement

The meeting of the Senate Awards Committee (the "Committee") was called to

order at 3:31 pm on 24 October 2022 by S. Thorne, Chair.

Agenda Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee adopts the revised 24 October

2022 agenda, as presented.

Carried by general consent.

Minutes Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee approves the 28 September 2022

meeting minutes, as presented.

Carried by general consent.

Business Arising Revisions to awards as noted in the minutes from the 28 September 2022

committee meeting.

Welcome New Committee

tee Awards (Ex Officio)

Stuart Floyd, Director, International Recruitment, Scholarship Programs and

Member

iviember

New and Revised

New Awards Endowed

Awards

THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

UBC

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

- Santa J. Ono Bursary
- Eileen Lois Brennan Bursary in Nursing
- Margaret Alexander Bursary
- Mary and Kathleen Tierney Memorial Scholarship in Music

Action Item:

Add missing word to the description "Mary bequeathed the violins to the UBC..."

• Anna Isabelle Allen Scholarship in Social Work

Action Item:

This award has been removed from the docket. The award description will be revised and the revisions discussed with the Director of the School of Social Work.

- Dean Henry C. Gunning Bursary in Nursing
- Steven Scotton Bursary in Civil Engineering

Action Item:

Value of the award to be rounded to the nearest \$50.

Anderson Family Centennial Award in Business

New Awards Annual

- Eldorado Gold Bursary in Mining Engineering
- Vancouver Canucks Alumni Foundation Thunderbird Award in Hockey

Action Item:

D. Galpin and B. Menard to arrange for a representative from UBC Athletics and Recreation to attend an upcoming committee meeting, for a discussion about gender inclusion and athletics awards.

New Awards - Internal

- Mary Whiton Calkins Scholarship in Psychology and Philosophy
- Eric Eich Scholarship in Psychology
- Richard Tees Scholarship in Psychology
- MPPGA Global Policy Project Award
- Liu Scholars Award
- MPPGA Outstanding Student Award

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Endowed Awards

• 6331 - Rafe Mair Prize in Journalism

Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Annual Awards

- 2423 Ray Robazza Memorial Forestry Award
- 5887 Sangra Memorial Entrance Award

Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Internal Awards

• 6603 - UBC Vantage Entrance Award

Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee approves and recommends to Senate the new awards and proposed changes to previously approved awards, as circulated.

Moved: S. Grayston Seconded: K. Khosla Carried.

Other Business

B. Menard noted that committee members have requested that the Rules and Procedures of Senate be revised to allow the Committee to have delegated authority for making minor editorial changes to award descriptions.

Action Item:

Senate Office to prepare a memo and motion for the Committee's consideration in November.

Discussion ensued about the triennial review.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Monday 21 November 2022 from 3:30-5:00 pm.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:28 pm.