

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca

senate.ubc.ca

SENATE AWARDS COMMITTEE **MEETING MINUTES**

Monday 21 November 2022 from 3:31-4:35 pm via Zoom

Attendees

Senators L. Burr, G. Faulkner, S. Grayston, T. Jiang (Vice-Chair), A. Scott, M. Tan, S. Thorne

(Chair)

Ex Officio S. Floyd, B. Morey, S. Wright

Guests A. Cunningham, D. Galpin, T. Kaur, H. Ryan

Regrets R. Boushel, J. Chin, J. Hsiao, K. Khosla, A. Yim

Senate Staff B. Menard

Call to Order and

Acknowledgement

Land

The meeting of the Senate Awards Committee (the "Committee") was called to

order at 3:31 pm on 21 November 2022 by S. Thorne, Chair.

Agenda Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee adopts the revised 21 November

2022 agenda, as presented.

Carried by general consent.

Minutes Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee approves the 24 October 2022

meeting minutes, as presented.

Carried by general consent.

Revisions to awards as noted in the minutes from the 24 October 2022 **Business Arising**

committee meeting.

Amend Rules and Procedures of the As presented by B. Menard:

Vancouver Senate

Regarding

Authority of the Committee

Delegated

B. Menard provided a brief overview of the proposed revisions to the

Committee's delegated authority.

Discussion ensued among the Committee regarding the use of delegated authority, the current logistical practices for administering awards and the

THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239
Fax 604 822 5945
Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca
senate.ubc.ca

purpose of this proposed revision to the Committee's delegated authority.

Motion: THAT THE Vancouver Senate Awards Committee recommends to the Vancouver Senate Nominating Committee to amend the Rules and Procedures of the Vancouver Senate subsection 'e' to Section 29: 'e. Awards Committee (to approve changes to the total dollar amounts, number of awards offered for existing awards, award numbers, and minor editorial changes to previously approved award descriptions)."

Moved: S. Thorne Seconded: L. Burr Carried.

New and Revised Awards

New Awards Endowed

- Dr. Richard J. Kerekes Award in Chemical and Biological Engineering
- Dr. Siavash Jafari Memorial Award in Medicine
- Dr. Philip S. Vassar Pathology Prize
- Anna Isabelle Allen Scholarship in Social Work

New Awards Annual

- Jim and Virginia Houghton Bursary in Education
- Molson Coors Leadership Award for IBPOC Students

Committee members expressed concern about this proposed award. Suggestions were provided to revise the award name, description and criteria.

Action Item:

Award withdrawn from the docket. DAE Awards Office to consult with stakeholders in Enrolment Services and VP Students regarding possible revisions.

- Mel Beaton Memorial Award in Law
- Dr. Yosef Wosk Award in Nursing for Indigenous Students
- Dr. Yosef Wosk Entrance Award in ArtsONE
- Fortinet Award in Computer Engineering
- GHD Award for Diversity in Engineering
- Learning from Liveable Cities: The Joyce Drohan Travel Award
- Thunderbird Athletics Student Affordability Award

THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Office of the Senate

Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

Action Item:

Award withdrawn from docket. DAE Awards Office to follow-up with donor to expand award description and change award criteria.

Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Endowed Awards

- 4852 Paper Excellence Bright Futures Fellowship
- 2357 Paper Excellence Bright Futures Scholarship
- 3136 H. Rocke Robertson Prize in Surgery

Action Item:

DAE Awards Office to add missing word "in honour [of] Dr. Rocke Robertson".

4815 - Malcolm F. McGregor Memorial Scholarship

Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee approves and recommends to Senate the new awards and proposed changes to previously approved awards, as presented and discussed.

Moved: S. Thorne Seconded: A. Scott Carried.

Other Business None.

Next Meeting The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Monday 23 January 2023

from 3:30-5:00 pm.

Adjournment The meeting adjourned at 4:35 pm.