Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

# SENATE AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday 21 February 2023 from 3:31-4:14 pm via Zoom

Attendees Senators L. Burr, G. Faulkner, T. Jiang (Vice-Chair), A. Scott, S. Thorne (Chair) **Ex Officio** S. Floyd, B. Morey, S. Wright Guests A. Cunningham, D. Galpin, M. Lasko, A. Lau, H. Ryan Regrets R. Boushel, J. Chin, S. Grayston, J. Hsiao, K. Khosla, R. Ng, M. Tan Senate Staff B. Menard Call to Order and The meeting of the Senate Awards Committee (the "Committee") was called to Land order at 3:31 pm on 21 February 2023 by S. Thorne, Chair. Acknowledgement Agenda Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee adopts the 21 February 2023 agenda, as presented. Carried by general consent. Minutes Motion: THAT THE Senate Awards Committee approves the revised 23 January 2023 meeting minutes, as presented. Carried by general consent. **Business Arising** B. Menard noted that the feedback provided by the Committee regarding the Terms of Reference for Academic Advisory Committee on Wall Research Awards and Wall Research Fellowships, was shared with the VPRI and the Nominating Committee. D. Galpin noted that the revisions to awards noted in the minutes from the 23 January 2023 committee meeting were included in the docket that was approved by Senate. New and Revised **New Awards Endowed** Awards Dr. Kenneth Wilson Family Memorial Award in Immunotherapy •



Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

- Madison Group Award in Mathematics, Environment and Ecology
- Myrtle Rae Forberg Siebert Centennial Scholars Award
- Dr. Ken Denike Award in Transportation Studies

## **Action Item**

DAE Awards to confirm whether the award is available to graduate students and to update wording to note that the award is open to students of all faculties.

• John & Gilberte Thompson Bursary in Commerce

## New Awards Annual

• Robert Watson Memorial Bursary in Law

# Previously Approved Awards with Changes in Terms or Funding Source – Endowed Awards

 7338 - Clay Gillespie Rogers Group Financial Bursary → Clay Gillespie RGF Integrated Wealth Management Bursary

**Motion:** That the Senate Awards Committee approves and recommends to Senate the new awards and proposed changes to a previously approved award, as presented and discussed.

> Moved: S. Thorne Seconded: L. Burr Carried.

### Discussion

Triennial Review (Information)	As presented by B. Menard and S. Thorne:
	B. Menard provided an overview of the Triennial Review materials. He noted that individual feedback will be solicited separately by the Nominating Committee. He also noted that the Committee can provide its own response to the questions.
	B. Menard noted that the Joint Board and Senate Naming Policy GA6 will require part of all non-student awards be approved by the Tributes Committee. B. Morey asked which committee has purview for post-doc awards.
	Action item: B. Menard to confirm with OUC whether the intention is for all non-student awards to be approved by the Tributes Committee, or only award names. B.

Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 Email vancouver.senate@ubc.ca senate.ubc.ca

# Menard to also confirm whether post-doc awards will continue going to Awards Committee.

B. Menard recommended revisions to the Ex Officio membership of the Committee, to address changes in titles and reorganizations within units. These changes include updating the title for "Dean, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies" to "Dean and Vice-Provost, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies", "Director, International Recruitment and Awards" to "Director, International Recruitment, Scholarship Programs and Awards" and "Associate Director, Awards, Development and Alumni Engagement (nonvoting)" to "Senior Director of Development, Awards, Development and Alumni Engagement (non-voting)". The Committee supported this recommendation.

B. Menard noted the Registrar's role being listed as voting in the membership, but there being no record in the Senate files or in the Rules of Procedures of Senate that show the Registrar is a voting member of the Committee. He provided context from the Rules and Procedures and University Act regarding the Registrar's role. The Committee supported changing the Ex Officio role to "Registrar, or designate of the Registrar (non-voting)". B. Morey noted a conversation that he had with B. Menard regarding the roles of the Registrar and the Dean and Vice-Provost, G+PS on the Committee. It was decided that no changes be made to the Dean and Vice-Provost's role.

S. Thorne continued providing an overview of the remaining questions. The Committee expressed a desire to continue holding their meetings virtually, and for Senate to continue holding their meetings hybrid.

#### Action item:

Members of the Committee are to send any further feedback to S. Thorne, T. Jiang and B. Menard. B. Menard to compile the responses and share them with the Committee.

Other Business	None.
Next Meeting	The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Monday March 27, 2023 from 3:30-5:00 pm
Adjournment	The meeting adjourned at 4:14 pm.

