

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver Senate

THE EIGHTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2023/2024 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 17 APRIL 2024 6:00 P.M. LSC 1003 AND VIA ZOOM

- 1. Call to Order and Territorial Acknowledgment Dr Benoit-Antoine Bacon
- 2. Senate Membership Dr Rella Ng

New Members:

- Drédyn Fontana, Faculty of Applied Science
- Tony Xiutong Jiang, Faculty of Forestry (Continuing)
- Joseph Al Rahmani, Faculty of Land & Food Systems (Continuing)
- Jasper Lorien, Faculty of Arts
- Jacky Xue, Faculty of Commerce & Business Administration
- Kai Rogers, Peter A. Allard School of Law (Continuing)
- William Zhu, Faculty of Medicine
- David Qi (Continuing), Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
- Salva Sherif, Faculty of Science
- Enav Zusman, Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies
- Siddharth Rout, Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies (Continuing)
- Kareem Hassib, At-large (Continuing)
- Kamil Kanji, At-large (Continuing)
- Kyle Rogers, At-large
- Taushifa Shaikh, At-large
- Solomon Yi-Kieran, At-large

NB: Giovanna Markman remains as Senator for the Students in the Faculty of Education until 30 September 2025. The Dentistry student seat remains unfilled at this time due to lack of nominations.

Resignation:

Dr Jaclyn Stewart, Faculty Member, Faculty of Science



Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Nominating Committee:

First Call for Nominations for two student members of Senate for the Senate nominating Committee to serve until 31 March 2025 and thereafter until replaced (information)

Third Call for Nominations for a non-student non-convocation Member of Senate for the Senate Nominating Committee to serve until 31 August 2026 and thereafter until replaced (information)

- Minutes of the Meeting of 20 March 2024 Dr Benoit-Antoine Bacon (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- 4. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Benoit-Antoine Bacon (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Benoit-Antoine Bacon (information)
- 6. 2024-2025 Budget Presentation Dr Gage Averill (information) (docket pages xx-xx) NB: As required by the University Act, the University's financial statements are available at <u>https://finance.ubc.ca/reporting-planning-analysis/financial-reports</u>

7. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Kin Lo

Revisions to Course Standings (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

8. Admissions Committee – Dr Joanne Fox

- a) Bachelor of Applied Science Guaranteed Program Placement Policy (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- b) Undergraduate Admission Requirements BC High School Grade 11 (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)
- c) Revisions to Conditional Admissions Program for 2024 Winter (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

9. Awards Committee – Dr Lawrence Burr

New Awards and Changes to Existing Awards (approval) (docket pages xx-xx

10. Curriculum Committee – Dr Catherine Rawn

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science, Arts, Education, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)



Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

11. Research & Scholarships Committee – Dr Guy Faulkner

Disestablishment of the Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

12. Tributes Committee – Dr John Gilbert

Academic Regalia for the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences (approval) (docket pages xx-xx)

13. Report from the Registrar - Dr Rella Ng

2024 Vancouver Student Elections to the Board of Governors and Senate (information) (docket pages xx-xx)

14. Other Business

JBC