Docket Page 1 of 18 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Vancouver Senate

THE SECOND SPECIAL MEETING OF THE VANCOUVER SENATE FOR THE 2021/2022 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 17 AUGUST 2022 5:00 P.M. to 7:00 P.M.

1. Call to Order and Territorial Acknowledgements – Dr Santa J. Ono (information)

2. Membership

New Members:

Dr Darrin Dahl, Dean, Faculty of Commerce & Business Administration, to replace Dr Robert Helsley (end of term)

Dr Janice Stewart, Dean *Pro Tem*. of the Faculty of Arts, to replace Dr Stefania Burk (end of term)

Dr Gerry Turcotte, Principal of St. Mark's College, to replace Dr Michael Higgins (retired)

Kamil Kanji, Student At-Large, to replace Anisha Sandhu (resigned)

3. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions – Dr Santa J. Ono

4. Senate Tributes Committee – Dr John Gilbert, OC

Report on the Honorary Degree of John Fergus O'Grady (approval) (docket pages 2-16)

5. Senate Agenda Committee – Dr Paul G. Harrison

Amendments to the Rules and Procedures of Senate Related to Meeting Format (approval) (docket page 17)

6. Senate Nominating Committee – Dr Paul G. Harrison

Committee Adjustments (approval) (docket page 18)

7. Other Business

Under the *Rules and Procedures of Senate*, a consideration of business other than that in the call for the special meeting is not permitted.